Castle Risk

A couple of my friends and I just finished playing a delightful game of Castle Risk, which lasted for a good 5 or 6 hours. If you know anything about the game Risk, you know that it takes awhile. But do you know anything about Castle Risk?

I am a big fan of Risk. I enjoy playing it. I owned three Risk boards before I even heard of Castle Risk. I had heard of Space Risk, Halo Risk, Lord of the Rings Risk, Star Wars Risk, even a Risk game involving gods, and I’m well aware that there are a number of other Risk variants out there. However, until the day my parents discovered it at a garage sale, I had never even heard of Castle Risk. How could such a delightful game go so unnoticed?

Well, one possible explanation is that no one wants to spend six hours playing Castle Risk. Of course I want to play Risk for six hours, but I’m talking about the average consumer here. According to Wikipedia, though (always a reliable source), Castle Risk takes 1-3 hours to play. Perhaps my friends and I were doing it wrong.

This game first came out in 1986, making it older than I am. Despite the fact that no one I know has ever heard of it, I think Castle Risk has aged well. If you like Risk, I recommend you read the rules of Castle Risk and then go out and find it cheap someplace, gather together all your equally foolish friends, and spend a few hours conquering Europe. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

