Mad as a Hatter

I’m back from vacation. It was nice. I made a hat today.

I’m going to the Renaissance Festival on Saturday, you see. I’ve never been there before, so I decided I should make myself some authentic Renaissance era head-wear. Fortunately, I found this delightful page to help me. And so it begins.

Warning: This blog post is full of pictures.

Image

Step one involved doing math and measuring and drawing circles and things. I’m terrible at math, but I somehow managed to create a pattern successfully anyway. Off to a good start.

 

Image

Pattern pinned onto the first piece of fabric, ready to begin cutting. I bought those green scissors today specifically for this project. They’re rather nice, aren’t they? 

 

Image

A beautiful, round piece of felt. Practically a hat already.

 

Image

Pattern pinned onto the second piece of fabric. Ready to cut.

 

Image

Two beautiful round pieces of fabric. Making progress.

 

Image

 

Time to sew the two pieces together right quick. If you were any sort of sane, this is the part where you would pull out your sewing machine. Being a madman, I do all my sewing by hand.

 

Image

 

Done with the outermost 3″ of my pattern, better snip it off so I can begin making the brim.

 

Image

 

Fabric all set to begin cutting the hat brim.

 

Image

 

Close enough. (That is the first rule of crafting, for me. Things are usually close enough.)

 

Image

 

Gorgeous. We’ll have a hat in no time.

 

Image

 

I like to put my blood, sweat, and tears into the work I do. That’s why I accidentally prick my finger with a needle literally every time I try to sew anything, ever.

 

Image

All the pieces of fabric necessary for the hat brim. I decided to use several pieces of felt to make the brim a bit thicker and stiffer.

 

Image

Now it’s a simple matter of sewing them together. Again, this would probably be a good time to use a sewing machine, if you’re into that sort of thing.

 

Image

 

It’s sewed together nicely…

 

Image

 

We flip the top layer of fabric inside out, and…

 

Image

 

…that looks terrible. Better sew some more.

 

Image

Could your sewing machine stitch better than this? I doubt it.

 

Image

 

With the brim all sewed up it’s looking…better?

 

Image

 

Now it’s time to grab that first piece of round fabric and sort of scrunch the edges of it up before sewing it onto the brim. I just used the one little piece of thread that was already there for this, rather than sewing around it again with “some strong thread.” I’m sure this will have no negative repercussions in the near future.

 

Image

Huh. My piece of thread broke. Perhaps I should use more thread to fix it? Nope, just going to say “close enough” and keep on sewing.

 

Image

 

A bit of very precise and elegant needlework on the inside of the hat to hold things together properly.

 

Image

Image

Image

And there you have it, the finished project! It doesn’t look exactly like the one in my instructions, but I like it anyway. I shall wear it with pride on Saturday, and hope some stuck-up Renaissance actor sticks their nose up and tells me precisely why it’s not actually “period authentic.”

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mad as a Hatter

  1. Pingback: A pouch | NakedWindowWriting

Leave a Reply

