A pouch

I’ve really got to start writing this someplace else and then pasting them into WordPress, because I just lost a post by hitting backspace while adding tags, again. *sigh* It’s so convenient to put the pictures in right here while I’m typing, though. So, take two.

 

I had some leftover fabric from when I made my hat, so I decided to make a little pouch out of it. Also, I discovered the French Seam at the bottom of this page the other day, and decided it looked like a grand idea.

 

Image

 

So, I started off by cutting out a piece of fabric that looked something like this.

 

Image

 

Then I folded it in half. That fold means one side of the pouch is done without any sewing! Brilliant! (I went ahead and sewed up that side as well, though, to give it a bit of extra strength and keep things looking uniform.) So, sewed the sides and bottom together.

 

Image

 

Nicely sewed, basically done, but that seam looks a bit messy doesn’t it? Time to do something clever. (E.G., the french seam.)

 

Image

 

Flipped it inside out, sewed the sides and bottom again.

 

Image

 

Flipped in inside out again (flipped it right-side-in?) and just like that, the seams have disappeared.

 

Image

 

…also this messy looking extra bit of fabric has appeared on the bottom of the pouch. But with scissors and a wee bit more sewing that’s easily fixed.

 

Image

 

And it’s done! I didn’t bother doing any sort of seam on the top, because the fabric’s a rather nice sort that doesn’t appear prone to unraveling. Still need a way to close it, though…

 

Image

 

Going to cut this into three strips and braid them together into a little rope.

 

Image

 

Used a hole punch to stick some holes around the top of the pouch, then slipped the braided rope through it. Unfortunately, it was only long enough to go through half the holes.

 

Image

 

More scraps! More braiding!

 

Image

 

And we’re done! Here it is open.

 

Image

 

Here it is closed.

 

Image

 

What’s inside it? Nobody knows! (Probably magic, though. I bet it’s magic.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

