Oh! Glorious Dancing!

Last Wednesday I had my first day of Studio Dance. It went…well. (I cannot sachet. I cannot even spell sashay.) Okay, so I’m not an excellent dancer. I’m hoping, though, that if I look silly often enough I might turn into one.

So, while at Studio Dance last Wednesday our instructor mentioned that she also teaches a free Hip Hop class on Tuesday nights. I mourned. Twice. First, because I paid money for Studio Dance when I could have been taking a Hip Hop class for free. And then again, because it turns out Hip Hop starts at 8:15, and I’m in lab until 8:30. So I forgot about it and went about my business.

Then today, I got out of lab early, as sometimes happens, and looked at my watch (and by “watch” I mean “phone”) and realized that it was approximately 8:00pm on a Tuesday night. I thought, “Hip Hop. O.O” and scurried across campus. I meandered into the studio with a couple minutes to spare, looking extremely ready to dance, I’m sure, in my jeans, old running shoes, and long sleeve button-up shirt. As I approached the door I said to some girls standing outside, “This free?” They verified that it was, and that was good enough for me.

So we learned a bit of a hip hop dance, and then our beloved instructor informed us that she was going to film us all and put it on the internet. (The rec center Facebook page, I think, as well as Youtube?) So that was…good? There will soon be a video of me staring confusedly at people’s feet while they dance, feel free to find it and gently mock me.

What this all means, of course, is that I am now dancing two nights a week. Dancing very poorly, I admit, but dancing nonetheless. With a bit of luck, I might be a mediocre dancer by Christmas break. Brilliant.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

